adult novels · book reviews

The Darkest Passion by Gena Showalter

6758331Title: The Darkest Passion
Author: Gena Showalter
Source: Secondhand
Edition: Mass Market Paperback
Publication: Harlequin
Pages: 406 pages
Category: Romance, Paranormal, Fantasy

SYNOPSIS:

For weeks, the immortal warrior Aeron has sensed an invisible female presence. An angel-demon-assassin has been sent to kill him. Or has she? Olivia claims she fell from the heavens, giving up immortality because she couldn’t bear to harm him. But trusting – and falling for – Olivia will endanger them all. So how has this mortal with the huge blue eyes already unleashed Aeron’s darkest passion?

With an enemy hot on his trail and his faithful demon companion determined to remove Olivia from his life, Aeron is trapped between duty and consuming desire. Worse still, a new executioner has been sent to do the job Olivia wouldn’t…

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤❤ (4.5 hearts)

WHAT’S THIS ABOUT?

Somehow the keeper of Wrath fell in love and it still ended well. This is the story where Aeron gets to experience being human. He fell in love with an angel while trying to console his adopted devil daughter. He didn’t have this problems before Olivia fell from heaven.In the end, love always wins and that everyone wins. However, they still have problems with the bad guys but they are stronger now, because they have an angel on their side.

WHAT DID I NOTICE?

I noticed that this demon possessed warriors have their demons tamed when they are near their missis to be near them. It was more evident in this book because the demon of wrath chose Olivia than his demon daughter Legion.  Aeron analyzed the link of his demon to the ladies which actually made sense. He noticed that the demon liked Olivia because just like it, she was a fallen angel. As for Legion, it liked her because she was a demon like him.

WHAT SURPRISED ME?

Aeron as a character surprised me. I never thought that he would have a good heart. Well, he adopted Legion but somehow I thought he was more of the doom and gloom character. I liked him more because I was proven wrong. Olivia, also surprised me. She seemed so meek and humble but when it comes to Aeron she is ready to fight. Her situation surprised me because she was reinstated as a guardian angel after she fell. Maybe, there will be a reason for her to return to heaven as an angel.

WHAT CONFUSED ME?

I was confused on why did Aeron’s soul did not go straight to hell or heaven. The warriors have their own type of boring purgatory. This place has not been seen in the other books. Also, I was not able to read Olivia’s archangel boss. It seems that he has a harp lover which makes their story interesting.

WHAT LIFE LESSONS DID I LEARN?

I learned that love would always find a way to survive. Everything was against Aeron adn Olivia. Their time with each other is limited. A lot of enemies were hunting them down. Somehow, their love story wasn’t meant to be. However, they were able to continue with their relationship because Olivia never gave up on their love.

HOW WILL THIS HELP ME TO BE BETTER?

This story made me realise that its not good to judge people with their appearance and work. Well, physically Aeron was not the best looking but he was loved by Olivia. I also think that Olivia because of her goodness did not judge him right away. Somehow, its best to get to know the person before making a conclusion. Also, Aeron made comments about humans and he was suddenly given Olivia who tested his patience and beliefs in love and other things.

CONCLUSION:

This story had a lot of things going on. The Demon Lords were still looking for the missing artefacts and other were left to guard their fort in Budapest. Aside from this, they each have personal problems which they face. Personally, because of all the action I like this book than its predecessors. It had a theme of angel versus demon. Somehow, self sacrifice and cunningness were mostly used by the characters. I liked how the author wrote this book. When the character was in pain, I really felt their pain. I gave this book a 4.5 hearts rating because I was happy for the ending. As usual, the story had its sexual drama, lots of action and its weird bad guys. Although, I still liked the last story, this would be second on my list if I were to rank the books in the series.  This did not disappoint me, its just I preferred the last one better.

QUOTATIONS:

“Because you aren’t who you think you are. You aren’t what everyone else believes. You might have delivered countless deaths but you love more fiercely than anyone I’ve ever known.”
― Gena Showalter, The Darkest Passion
“When you lost something precious, the memories of it became a tormenting reminder of what you could never have again.”
― Gena Showalter, The Darkest Passion
“Hold everything. I missed a four-way chick fight. Then I find out someone’s been nibbling.” William’s attention shifted to Olivia, who was still lying on the floor. “Please tell me our sweet little angel is the biter. It’ll make me want her ever so much more.”
― Gena Showalter, The Darkest Passion
Leave a Reply

