book reviews · young adult

To all the boys I’ve loved before by Jenny Han

15749186

Title: To all the boys I’ve loved before
Author: Jenny Han
Source: Bought
Edition: Trade paperback
Publication:   March 20th 2015 by Penerbit Spring
Pages: 320 pages
Category: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

SYNOPSIS:

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once?

Sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤❤❤

WHAT’S THIS ABOUT?

This is the first book of the series To all the boys I’ve loved before. It is about the Song girls and how change could affect their lives.They are having a different year, most especially for Lara Jean. First of all, her love letters were sent, and she would need to be the responsible child. Margot who is the eldest is leaving for Scotland to study college and Kitty the youngest with Lara Jean to take care of. A lot of drama is happening but now Lara Jean’s life has become more lively if not fun.

WHAT DID I NOTICE?

I noticed that the bond of the Song sisters was very strong. They supported each other and their interactions are really like true siblings. I would know this because my sister is a combination of Lara Jean and Kitty. She could get mad at me for a long time and she bakes cookies when she is home. I believe that my life would not be as fun as it is now, if I don’t have my siblings.

WHAT SURPRISED ME?

I was surprised that I read this book very fast. It was a fun read that I would sleep late because of it. I don’t usually read or enjoy contemporary YA novels but this one was a different read. It was light but not corny. I was crying and laughing at the same time with Lara Jean. Somehow, I was able to connect with her in an emotional way. As the first book in the series, it was a good introduction to the Song Sisters.

WHAT CONFUSED ME?

I was confused on why Josh want Lara Jean. For me, it was not right for him to like Lara Jean because it would mean that she was the “rebound”. I think if Josh has respect for both sisters it would be best for him to avoid them. I don’t also know why I don’t like Josh. Even if he wasn’t a nerd, I would not still like him. He is hiding something but maybe I’m just suspicious.

WHAT LIFE LESSONS DID I LEARN?

I learned that sometimes your life should be shaken a bit so that something new could enter it. I think that change, if faced positively will bring positive results. It was nice to see the progress which Lara Jean had after the letter sending incident. At least her circle of friends grew bigger. Also, she was able to know how to have fun through the love letters that were sent.

HOW WILL THIS HELP ME TO BE BETTER?

This story helped me  become better since it reminded me that anything is possible and what is important is how you handle the situation. Lara Jean could leave school which she did not do. She made herself adapt to the situation and come up with a solution which benefited her in the long run. Also, through the process of change, one can have fun too.

CONCLUSION:

I LOVE this book. It was just so light and fun to read that the reading experience left me happy and fluffy. Its nice to know that there are still 2 books to go before the ending. I don’t know if I will finish this series right away because I love this one so much. However, all I know is that the Lara Jean as a character is so relatable. I gave this book a 5 hearts rating because I love everything about it. It was just too fun to put down. I also liked that their issues could happen to anybody, well except the unknown love letter sending. Anyways, I also love the writing style of Jenny Han. It was clean and straight to the point. The cookie recipes were also a bonus on why I love this book. All in all, I just can’t help but be impressed with this read.

QUOTATIONS:

“You’d rather make up a fantasy version of somebody in your head than be with a real person.”
― Jenny Han, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
“When someone’s been gone a long time, at first you save up all the things you want to tell them. You try to keep track of everything in your head. But it’s like trying to hold on to a fistful of sand: all the little bits slip out of your hands, and then you’re just clutching air and grit.”
― Jenny Han, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
“Life doesn’t have to be so planned. Just roll with it and let it happen.”
― Jenny Han, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
“You only like guys you don’t have a chance with, because you’re scared.”
― Jenny Han, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
“It’s not like in the movies. It’s better, because it’s real.”
― Jenny Han, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
Leave a Reply

