adult novels · book reviews

Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon

84136Title: Fantasy Lover
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Source: Secondhand
Edition:  Paperback
Publication: St. Martin’s Press
Pages: 337 pages
Category: Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance

SYNOPSIS:

Dear Reader,

Being trapped in a bedroom with a woman is a grand thing. Being trapped in hundreds of bedrooms over two thousand years isn’t. And being cursed into a book as a love-slave for eternity can ruin even a Spartan warrior’s day.

As a love-slave, I know everything about women. How to touch them, how to savor them, and most of all, how to pleasure them. But when I was summoned to fulfill Grace Alexander’s sexual fantasies, I found the first woman in history who saw me as a man with a tormented past. She alone bothered to take me out of the bedroom and onto the world. She taught me to love again.

But I was not born to love. I was cursed to walk eternity alone. As a general, I had long ago accepted my sentence. Yet now I have found Grace–the one thing my wounded heart cannot survive without. Sure, love can heal all wounds, but can it break a two-thousand-year-old curse?

Julian of Macedon

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤ (3.5 hearts)

WHAT’S THIS ABOUT?

This story is the first book for the Dark Hunter series. It is about Julian and Grace. Both characters have experienced loss. They were also betrayed by their loved ones. Julian is a warrior from Macedon. He is half god and man while grace is human. They were able to meet because Julian was trapped in a book which binds him to be a love slave. Grace’s best friend thought that she needed a life, hence Julian’s book as a gift. Although, Grace knows that Julian is a love slave, she does not treat him as such. Both characters are reluctant to fall in love because Julian would be sucked in the book after a month. However, both found a way for Julian to stay forever with Grace. In the end, the antagonist is trapped in the book while the protagonists have their own family. A bonus is that all the emotional baggages of Julian were resolved one by one.

WHAT DID I NOTICE?

This was not my first Sherrilyn Kenyon Dark Hunter novel. I noticed that I would have understood the Dark Hunter universe more if I read the books in order. Somehow, the writing of the author got better as I read the later books in the series. I still enjoyed this book but it would be nice if I started my Dark Hunter universe journey with this book.

WHAT SURPRISED ME?

I was surprised that nothing about dark hunters were mentioned in this book. Aside, from Kyrian making a cameo. I somehow expected this book as an introduction to the Daimons, Gods, Dark hunters and other entities. Also, it was surprisingly nice that Kyrian’s wife would be the sister of Grace’s best friend. It was also nice to see that Cupid is a biker, so with Psyche.

WHAT CONFUSED ME?

I was confused how the antagonist got sucked in the book. Also, how Julian and Grace were brought back together again by Aphrodite because they failed to make Julian’s curse disappear. I don’t know if Aphrodite turned back time, or did she did something else. Somehow, Grace’s psycho patient confused me. Is he really her patient or just someone she met when she substituted her friend.

WHAT LIFE LESSONS DID I LEARN?

I learned that you need to undergo unfortunate events to appreciate the good ones. Both Julian and Grace experienced something super heart breaking and its amazing that they still know how to love. Some people would just shy away from love but somehow they made me realise that love is worth the risk. I personally think that I read this books because of its happy ending. Also, just to remind me that love will always find a way to make life worth living.

HOW WILL THIS HELP ME TO BE BETTER?

This book helped me believe more that a happy ending in a book really makes me happy. Sometimes my mood would depend on how the story ended. I get depressed if its a sad one. I am happy when its a happy ending. However, I get annoyed when the story has an ending that did not satisfy any of the two mentioned. So, I conclude that I should read a book which definitely has a happy ending despite the main characters struggles

CONCLUSION

This is the first book of the Dark hunters series by Sherrilyn Kenyon. However, this is not the first book written by her which I read. I enjoyed this book. Even if, the story was a little bit predictable. Sometimes, predictable makes me want to read the book more. I gave this book a 3.5 hearts rating because her other books made me feel more feelings.They made my heart race, palm sweat but sometimes, out of frustration, I would scream. Also, as time passed her writing style was developed and improved too. As a first book, it was a good start. The concept was very interesting. It got my attention but somehow I just wished I read this first than her other books so that I would not be too biased. Since, I read Kyrian’s story first, I am looking forward to read the third book. This is because the Dark Hunter Universe is worth my effort and time

QUOTATIONS:

“You know, I would date, if I could find a man worth shaving my legs for.”
― Sherrilyn Kenyon, Fantasy Lover

“No power from above can make one human love another. Love comes from within the heart. ”
― Sherrilyn Kenyon, Fantasy Lover

“There’s only so many times you can kick a dog before it turns viscous. (Julian) ”
― Sherrilyn Kenyon, Fantasy Lover

“Death always before dishonor. (Julian)”
― Sherrilyn Kenyon, Fantasy Lover

“I waited two thousand years for you, Grace Alexander,” he whispered in her ear. “And you were worth every second of it.”
― Sherrilyn Kenyon, Fantasy Lover

One thought on “Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Leave a Reply

