adult novels · book reviews

Lover Eternal by J.R. Ward

35729Title: Lover Eternal
Author: J.R. Eternal
Source: Secondhand
Edition: Masspaperback
Publication:March 7th 2006 by Signet
Pages: 441 pages
Category:Adult Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy

SYNOPSIS:

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war raging between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Possessed by a deadly beast, Rhage is the most dangerous of the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

Within the brotherhood, Rhage is the vampire with the strongest appetites. He’s the best fighter, the quickest to act on his impulses, and the most voracious lover-for inside him burns a ferocious curse cast by the Scribe Virgin. Owned by this dark side, Rhage fears the time when his inner dragon is unleashed, making him a danger to everyone around him.

Mary Luce, a survivor of many hardships is unwittingly thrown into the vampire world and reliant on Rhage’s protection. With a life-threatening curse of her own, Mary is not looking for love. She lost her faith in miracles years ago. But when Rhage’s intense animal attraction turns into something more emotional, he knows that he must make Mary his alone. And while their enemies close in, Mary fights desperately to gain life eternal with the one she loves…

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤

MY THOUGHTS:
On the cover:  The cover has a similar design to dark lover. They both used the same fonts. The black dagger image is also present. The book’s colour is shiny royal blue while dark lover’s is red. There is also a the image of Rage’s dragon tattoo in front.

On the story plot:  The story centres on Rage and Mary and how they have met. Due to circumstances, Mary was able to know about the vampire society even if she was human. Somehow, their story is the typical vampire + human love story. However cancer, lessors and personal insecurities make the story complicated. This story reminded me of Twilight but this had more problems in it.

On the characters: The story centres on Rage and Mary. Also, some characters like John and Bella were introduced in this book. They are characters which would play a crucial role in the other succeeding books. Rage is a cursed vampire. He is able to transform into a dragon. On the other hand, Mary is a human who is not suppose to know that vampires exist. However, due to unavoidable events she was introduced to their world. She is also diagnosed with cancer again which makes her bitter with life.

All in all: This is the second book from the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. It was more of a Twilight like story but with more action and gore. The story had all the elements for a  good novel yet I had a hard time reading it. Rhage was sexy but Mary was a character which you could easily hate. Also, I think it was because of the instant love scenarios of the characters. I gave this book a 3 hearts rating because the love scenes without sex were cringe worthy. Also, I think I expected more from this book. I tried to love this book but I just couldn’t do it. I know that the third book was epic, which I think affected my expectation for this one.

QUOTES:

“You are a manipulator.
I like to think of myself more as an outcome engineer.”
― J.R. Ward, Lover Eternal

“I will not fall in love with you,” she said. “I can’t let myself. I won’t.”
“That’s all right. I’ll love you enough for the both of us.”
― J.R. Ward, Lover Eternal

“Fine. If I can’t have you, then you do the taking. Have all of me, part of me, a small piece, whatever you want. Just please, have something.”
― J.R. Ward, Lover Eternal

“Mary frowned. A vampire doctor. Talk about exploring your alternative therapies.”
― J.R. Ward, Lover Eternal

“I am barren of words my female. For no sounds from my mouth are worthy of your hearing.”
― J.R. Ward, Lover Eternal

 

Leave a Reply

