book reviews · young adult

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

2813153Title: Thirteen Reasons Why
Author: Jay Asher
Source: Bought
Edition: Trade paperback
Publication:  Published June 14th 2011 by Razorbill
Pages: 288 pages
Category: Young Adult

SYNOPSIS : You can’t stop the future. You can’t rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret. . . is to press play.

Clay Jensen doesn’t want anything to do with the tapes Hannah Baker made. Hannah is dead. Her secrets should be buried with her.

Then Hannah’s voice tells Clay that his name is on her tapes– and that he is, in some way, responsible for her death.

All through the night, Clay keeps listening. He follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his small town. . .

. . .and what he discovers changes his life forever.

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤❤

MY THOUGHTS:

On the cover:  I don’t like the cover. It looks so gloomy and creepy which makes me not like the cover. However, it goes well with the theme of suicide, which is a sad theme. I never liked this kinds of covers because it does not encourage me to read it more. Also, I’m not into having real people as models for the front cover. This just does not appeal to me. Although, the blurbs piqued up my curiosity to read the book.  Again.the book cover does not appeal to my taste but still I got the book because the three worded blurbs in its front cover.

On the story plot: The story is about Hannah Baker and she committed suicide. Before the suicide, she was able to make audio cassette tapes which recorded her reason why she committed suicide. These tapes were sent to people who are involved in Hannah Baker’s suicide. After Hannah Baker committed suicide the cassette tapes were sent from one person to another, until it reached Clay. The whole story starts with Clay listening to tape one and it ends on the 13th tape. He was able to finish all 13 tapes and pass it on to the next person.

On the characters: Hannah Baker is a girl who made audio cassette tapes before committing suicide. A lot of rumours about her spread rapidly in school. Also, some of her classmates degraded her by voting her as “best ass”. Due to this tag, she was begin sexually harrassed.  She definitely needed help in the friendship department. Also, she was in need of positive recognition. However, Hannah’s fault was that she did not ask for help. No one knew she was struggling. She just clammed up and killed herself. Clay Jensen is a boy who wanted to help Hannah but it was to late. He was the only person on the tapes who showed his sincere affection for Hannah. This affection was known by Hannah but she was seriously conptemplating suicide before his affections reached her. After listening to the tapes, he at least knew why Hannah committed suicide. The experience made him reach out to one of his classmates who might kill herself.

All in all: The book has a very powerful message. We should be considerate of other people. Our words and actions could kill someone literally. The story is eerie but a lot could be learned from it. Somehow, this story hit home because I have a friend who committed suicide too. Its a very sad event and the people left behind wonder why she or he did it. I understand why this story could make some people uncomfortable. It is because this story reflects a certain reality which we are all scared, and that is death. But death due to oneself is very disturbing. It makes us wonder how, why and what made them do it? Life is good, why kill yourself? Somehow, I’m disturbed with this story but I believe that there is a reason why this story needs to be read. I learned a lot from this reading experience. Having the POV of Hannah made the story more realistic. It gave a glimpse of how a person on the brink of suicide thinks like. In my opinion its pure genius. I gave this story a 4 hearts rating because I learned a lot from it. Since, it really hit me hard, I felt uncomfortable reading the story. Despite this feeling, its a good book which opens our eyes to the reality that we could be the reason suicide becomes an option to other people.

QUOTES: 

“No one knows for certain how much impact they have on the lives of other people. Oftentimes, we have no clue. Yet we push it just the same.”
― Jay Asher, Thirteen Reasons Why

“A lot of you cared, just not enough.”
― Jay Asher, Thirteen Reasons Why

“It’s hard to be disappointed when what you expected turns out to be true.”
― Jay Asher, Thirteen Reasons Why

“I wanted people to trust me, despite anything they’d heard. And more than that, I wanted them to know me. Not the stuff they thought they knew about me. No, the real me. I wanted them to get past the rumors. To see beyond the relationships I once had, or maybe still had but that they didn’t agree with.”
― Jay Asher, Thirteen Reasons Why

“A flood of emotions rushes into me. Pain and anger. Sadness and pity. But most surprising of all, hope.”
― Jay Asher, Thirteen Reasons Why

Leave a Reply

