book reviews · young adult

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

22840421Title: My Lady Jane (The Lady Janies #01)
Author: Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows
Source: Bought
Edition: Hardbound
Publication:  June 7th 2016 by HarperTeen
Pages: 491 pages
Category: Comedy, Romance, Historical, YA, Fantasy

SYNOPSIS :

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England.

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤❤❤

MY THOUGHTS:

On the cover:  The dust jacket of the book has a picture of a lady with “My Lady Jane” boldly printed on it. Aside from its book description printed at the back, it has amusing descriptions which makes the book more interesting. The book description was very amusing that I bought the book after reading it. The book is coloured violet and it has a horse design in the front area. Its pages have deckled ends which add a rustic feel to the book. The weight is surprisingly light compared to other books with the same page count.

On the story plot:  This story took be by surprise. I was not expecting myself to love it. I thought it was just your typical, historical romance with magic in the mix. But no, it was more than that. It had three 3 point of views, characters which are easy to love and understand and lastly a subtle love story. It had horse jokes which offended G.  The twist in the end was expected and I love it. The writing was funny, straight forward and the characters emotions were written very well.

On the characters: Jane is a character who loves books and is very strong willed. Gifford or “G” is a guy who would turn into a horse every time the sun is up whether he likes it or not. They are both forced to marry one another by King Edward. King Edward is a teenage king who was not able to experience his first kiss because of him being king. All three characters compose the 3 point of views in the book. They are all witty, funny and entertaining. The other characters also gave substance to the story. Also, there is a narrator for the story. They would disclaim some things and also remind us that history was tweaked for the better.

All in all:  I love this story. I was laughing a lot and I wished there was more. I love how the story was not only about romance but family, honour and service to country too. This read was very refreshing and fluffy that I would really to love to read another book by this 3 authors. I’m also contemplating on reading their individual novels now. I gave this book a 5 hearts rating because I had fun reading it. It was very funny that you would just want to keep on reading until the last page. In my case, I definitely did not want it to end. In my opinion, this book deserves more attention than what its getting. I recommend this book to readers who would like to smile from beginning to end.

QUOTES: 

“I know I’m not inspiring much confidence at this point, but there’s something else I thought I’d bring up.” She lifted her eyes to him. “I love you more than I love books.”
― Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows, My Lady Jane

“I’m so hungry I could eat a horse. Oh. Sorry, G. Not you, of course.”
― Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows, My Lady Jane

“Armies aren’t very good about carrying libraries with them. I can’t imagine why. We’d fight so much less if everyone would juste sit down and read”
― Cynthia Hand,Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows, My Lady Jane

“Because he was English and that’s what the English do under stress: they drink tea.”
― Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows, My Lady Jane

“Dearest Jane, Sorry I made you marry a horse. Your father-in-law is trying to kill me. Send help. But”
― Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows, My Lady Jane