adult novels · book reviews

The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella

33722Title: Undomestic Goddess
Author: Sohie Kinsella
Source: Brandnew
Edition: Paperback
Publication: April 25th 2006 by Dial Press Trade Paperback
Pages: 404 pages
Category: Adult, Chick Lit, Contemporary

SYNOPSIS:

Workaholic attorney Samantha Sweeting has just done the unthinkable. She’s made a mistake so huge, it’ll wreck any chance of a partnership.

Going into utter meltdown, she walks out of her London office, gets on a train, and ends up in the middle of nowhere. Asking for directions at a big, beautiful house, she’s mistaken for an interviewee and finds herself being offered a job as housekeeper. Her employers have no idea they’ve hired a lawyer–and Samantha has no idea how to work the oven. She can’t sew on a button, bake a potato, or get the #@%# ironing board to open. How she takes a deep breath and begins to cope–and finds love–is a story as delicious as the bread she learns to bake.

But will her old life ever catch up with her? And if it does…will she want it back?

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤❤

MY THOUGHTS:
On the cover:  The cover really represents the essence of the book. Everything a housekeeper and lawyer needs is in the bag, like the feather duster, mittens and blackberry. I like how the items were drawn, I think it has a hand drawn feeling to it. The colour scheme is also very eye catching. The font used for the title suits the cover.

On the story plot:  The story plot was about changing for the better. It really hit my emotions hard because I’m a workaholic too. Somehow, Samantha Sweeting a respected lawyer suddenly became a maid over night. Due to this, she was shown that life did not revolve around work. She learned how to cook, clean and do the laundry. This things she has never done before because her mom does not approve of her learning this life skills. Also, love was ever present in the character of Nathaniel. He was the only person who helped Samantha learn this things. I like how, Nathaniel and Samantha’s relationship started. Despite the lies of Samantha, they were able to accept one another.

On the characters:  Samantha Sweeting is a main character which I could relate to. She is driven and motivated for work that she forgets the important things in life. I am definitely like this, but I love to read in my free time, which does not make me a very workaholic person. Compared to Samantha, I am just a novice in the workaholic world. I love this character because a lot could relate to her. The world needs to be reminded that we don’t live to work.

All in all: Again, Sophie Kinsella as a writer made me laugh, cry and realise that there should be time for fun and love. This book is very timely in my life. Yes, work is important but having fun is also a priority. I’m lucky that I love my work because I’m having fun with it. Anyways, this book should be read by every adult. It is witty and a valuable lesson can be learned from it. I gave this book a 4 hearts rating because the ending did not sit well with me. I needed a more final ending. It was just to open for my taste, where anything can happen. I just don’t like formulating my own ending.

QUOTES:

“sometimes you don’t need a goal in life, you don’t need to know the big picture. you just need to know what you’re going to do next!”
― Sophie Kinsella, The Undomestic Goddess

“If I’ve learned one lesson from all that’s happened to me, it’s that there is no such thing as the biggest mistake of your existence. There’s no such thing as ruining your life. Life’s a pretty resilient thing, it turns out.”
― Sophie Kinsella, The Undomestic Goddess

“My life has changed, and I’m changing with it.”
― Sophie Kinsella, The Undomestic Goddess

“You never know how things are going to turn out, however much you plan.”
― Sophie Kinsella, The Undomestic Goddess

“That’s the way it goes. Some things happen and some things don’t. This one is obviously just wasn’t meant to be. Except deep down… I still believe it was.”
― Sophie Kinsella, The Undomestic Goddess

Leave a Reply

