bookish post

My Favourite Quotes:What I talk about When I talk about Running by Haruki Murakami

2195464

“An unhealthy soul requires a healthy body.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“The most important thing we learn at school is the fact that the most important things can’t be learned at school.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“I’m the kind of person who likes to be by himself. To put a finer point on it, I’m the type of person who doesn’t find it painful to be alone. I find spending an hour or two every day running alone, not speaking to anyone, as well as four or five hours alone at my desk, to be neither difficult nor boring. I’ve had this tendency ever since I was young, when, given a choice, I much preferred reading books on my own or concentrating on listening to music over being with someone else. I could always think of things to do by myself.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“If you’re young and talented, it’s like you have wings.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“In other words, let’s face it: Life is basically unfair. But even in a situation that’s unfair, I think it’s possible to seek out a kind of fairness. Of course, that might take time and effort. And maybe it won’t seem to be worth all that. It’s up to each individual to decide whether or not it is.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“You have to wait until tomorrow to find out what tomorrow will bring.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“Forgive me for stating the obvious, but the world is made up of all kinds of people.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“To keep on going, you have to keep up the rhythm.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“Being active every day makes it easier to hear that inner voice.” 
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“It doesn’t matter how old I get, but as long as I continue to live I’ll always discover something new about myself.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“I am struck by how, except when you’re young, you really need to prioritize in life, figuring out in what order you should divide up your time and energy. If you don’t get that sort of system set by a certain age, you’ll lack focus and your life will be out of balance.”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

