adult novels · book reviews

R is for Ricochet by Sue Grafton

64862Title: R is for Ricochet (Kinsey Millhone #18)
Author: Sue Grafton
Source: Secondhand
Edition: Paperback
Publication:  G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Pages: 363 pages
Category: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Detective,Suspense

SYNOPSIS:

Reba Lafferty was a daughter of privilege, the only child of an adoring father. Nord Lafferty was already in his fifties when Reba was born, and he could deny her nothing. Over the years, he quietly settled her many scrapes with the law, but he wasn’t there for her when she was convicted of embezzlement and sent to the California Institution for Women. Now, at thirty-two, she is about to be paroled, having served twenty-two months of a four-year sentence. Nord Lafferty wants to be sure she stays straight, stays at home and away from the drugs, the booze, the gamblers.” “It seems a straightforward assignment for Kinsey: babysit Reba until she settles in, make sure she follows all the rules of her parole. Maybe all of a week’s work. Nothing untoward – the woman seems remorseful and friendly. And the money is good.” But life is never that simple, and Reba is out of prison less than twenty-four hours when one of her old crowd comes circling round.

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤

MY THOUGHTS:
On the cover: I have this book in the mass paperback format. It has the picture of the author in the back and its synopsis is printed on the first page with some blurbs. This kind of book format is very handy. I would bring the book out with me, when I do errands. My copy was from a second hand book store and it was not in good condition but the price compensated for its short comings.

On the story plot: The story is full of girl power which I could not help but like. It had strong female characters which can make men cringe. The story also showcases the  idea of Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.  In summary, the story is about how Reba was able to get revenge against Beck while being on parole. The beauty of this story is that the author was able to make Beck pay for his misdeeds while making Reba the good guy despite violating parole.

On the characters: I don’t know who is the main character of this story. The main character could be Kinsey Millhone. She is the private detective that Nord Lafferty hired to keep Reba in check. It could also be Reba Lafferty who is the daughter of Nord Lafferty. She went to jail because of embezzlement. I like both characters because they are polar opposites but they can work together. The antagonist who is Alan Beckwith “Beck” was the love of Reba before she was locked in jail. There relationship spirals down when Reba realises that she was used by Beck. She plans her revenge which leads to one dead man, friends from the law and going back to jail.

All in all: I read this book because it was part of the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge. It was also my first read by Sue Grafton. I liked the writing style of this book. It was simple and easy to read. Since this book is a part of a series, there were a lot of unrecognisable characters. Both Reba and Kinsey stood out as main characters. Their relationship was distant yet friendly. Somehow I noticed that Kinsey is the opposite of Reba. Reba acts on impulse while Kinsey has a knack for sleuthing but is still not as impulsive as Reba. The story also showed that people who came from jail have a hard time adjusting to society. This is because freedom means that they could be tempted to do bad actions again. I gave this read a 3 hearts rating because I just liked it. It was a good thriller, suspense novel. Since this book is a part of a series, I would have appreciated it more if I read the books before it. It would definitely make me understand the characters, most especially Kinsey Millhone.

QUOTES:

“The Universe keeps track of our sins and exacts devious and repugnant punishments, like dates with unknown men.”― Sue Grafton, R is for Ricochet

“Yes, they are. Revenge is you hurt me and I grind you underfoot until you wish you were dead. Getting even restores the balance in the Universe. You kill him, I kill you. Now, we’re even. What else is capital punishment about? Getting even is just what it sounds like. Tit for Tat. You hurt me, I hurt you back. We’re square again and all’s right with the world.”― Sue Grafton, R is for Ricochet

“I know you mean well and I appreciate your concern, but I’ve paid for my sins and now my life belongs to me. If I make bad choices, it’s my tough luck. It has nothing to do with you.”― Sue Grafton, R is for Ricochet

Leave a Reply

