adult novels · book reviews

Night Pleasures by Sherrilyn Kenyon

2937823Title: Night Pleasures (Dark-Hunterverse #2)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Source: Bought
Edition: Paperback
Publication:St. Martins Paperback
Pages: 324 pages
Category: Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance

SYNOPSIS:

Dear Reader,

Have you ever wanted to know what it’s like to be immortal? To journey through the night stalking vampires that prey on humans? To have unlimited wealth, unlimited power? That is my existence, and it is dark and dangerous. I play hero to thousands, but am known to none. And I love every minute of it.

Or so I thought until one night when I woke up handcuffed to my worst nightmare: a conservative woman in a button-down shirt. Or in Amanda’s case, one buttoned all the way up to her chin. She’s smart, sexy, witty, and wants nothing to do with the paranormal–in other words, me.

My attraction to Amanda Devereaux goes against everything I stand for. Not to mention the last time I fell in love it cost me not only my human life, but also my very soul. Yet every time I look at her, I find myself wanting to try again. Wanting to believe that love and loyalty do exist.

Even more disturbing, I find myself wondering if there’s any way a woman like Amanda can love a man whose battle scars run deep, and whose heart was damaged by a betrayal so savage that he’s not sure it will ever beat again.

Kyrian of Thrace

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤❤

MY THOUGHTS:

This story is the second book for the Dark-Hunterverse. Dark Hunters are beings who don’t have souls. They save the human race from apolites and other paranormal beings who think humans are food. Night Pleasure is about the dark hunter of Kyrian of Thrace. Before Kyrian became a dark hunter he was a well known macedonian general and prince. He seemed to have everything but his only love betrayed him. This made him want revenge which lead him to become a dark hunter.

On the other hand Amanda was a woman who wanted everything normal. Her whole life was full of paranormal stuff so she yearned for something normal. However, fate decided something different for her, she was not meant for something normal. In the end her paranormal powers were awakened and she had Kyrian to care and love for.

The story deals with different effects of love. It is shown that forgiving someone doesn’t mean that you have forgotten everything. Kyrian had a hard time getting over his first love’s betrayal. Amanda’s love was able to help Kyrian get over this problem and make him realise that he could love again. I gave this story a four hearts rating because I think the story needed more character development. It had sexy, hot and sassy characters as expected from the author.  I love these attributes but I believe that they could have more depth most especially Amanda. However, I still enjoyed reading this novel, I just feel that it had more potential for improvement. In the end, I just really expected more from this novel.

QUOTES:

“Oh God, I just kissed a vampire!”
Oh Gods, I just kissed a human!”
― Sherrilyn Kenyon, Night Pleasures

“I thought only a wooden stake through the heart killed a vampire. (Amanda)
A wooden stake through the heart will kill just about anything. And if it doesn’t, run like hell.”
― Sherrilyn Kenyon, Night Pleasures

“My God. Is there some unwritten law that you guys have to be giants?
What can I say? Artemis likes her Dark-Hunters tall. Short men need not apply.”
― Sherrilyn Kenyon, Night Pleasures
“You like being vague, don’t you?
It was a choice of being a Dark-Hunter or a prophet. Personally I like the slash-and-kill stuff much more than prayers and the lotus position. ”
― Sherrilyn Kenyon, Night Pleasures
“You’re the only man I know who can have sex with a woman who looks that good and be in this bad a mood ten minutes later. Damn, didn’t you know sex is supposed to make you feel better?”
― Sherrilyn Kenyon, Night Pleasures
Leave a Reply

