anime · others

Yuri On Ice

81149l

Anime info from 9anime.to:
Title: Yuri on Ice
Number of Episodes: 12
Genre: comedy, sports
Studio:MAPPA
Premiered: Fall 2016

SYNOPSIS from 9anime.to:
Reeling from his crushing defeat at the Grand Prix Finale, Yuuri Katsuki, once Japan’s most promising figure skater, returns to his family home to assess his options for the future. At age 23, Yuuri’s window for success in skating is closing rapidly, and his love of pork cutlets and aptitude for gaining weight are not helping either.However, Yuuri finds himself in the spotlight when a video of him performing a routine previously executed by five-time world champion, Victor Nikiforov, suddenly goes viral. In fact, Victor himself abruptly appears at Yuuri’s house and offers to be his mentor. As one of his biggest fans, Yuuri eagerly accepts, kicking off his journey to make it back onto the world stage. But the competition is fierce, as the rising star from Russia, Yuri Plisetsky, is relentlessly determined to defeat Yuuri and win back Victor’s tutelage.[Written by MAL Rewrite]

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤❤❤

MY THOUGHTS:
I spent my christmas watching anime with my cousins and siblings. This is the reason why I haven’t been able to read more books than anticipated. Never the less, it was a very fun Christmas. I was able to bond more with my cousins and siblings because of anime and movies. Sadly, I was not able to watch Yuri on Ice with them. I would definitely love to watch it again with them but I think their kind of anime would be more on action the action genre like one punch man or naruto.

So going back to Yuri on Ice, I definitely had fun watching it. I thought that it would be to risqué for me, but it was not. Yuri and Victors’ relationship was very cute. To define it more, it was awkward yet sweet. I liked how Victor motivates Yuri. His words of affirmation really could motivate.Victor as a character inspires the best, with this, Yuri is motivated to also become the best in his field. Yuri-oh was a good opponent for Yuri. At first, he was a very effective antagonist. Both Yuri’s were able to improve because of friendly competition.
Somehow, the relationship between Yuri and Victor is very special. They are friends but as viewers we can see them as lovers. I like how this is subtly done. It did not lessen the quality of the anime but it enhanced it more. As I was watching, I realised that it is best to pursue your dreams. Because, once you decide to pursue them, the right support would come. Also, it would help you improve as an individual and be an inspiration for others.
I gave it a 5 hearts rating because Victor is adorable. He is definitely my favourite character. Also, Yuri never gave up on his dreams. As an anime it really deserves a second season. I hope that Victor would be able to make his figure skating comeback while coaching Yuri (fingers crossed). I don’t know how he’ll  be able to do it but I believe that the creators would make a way (hahaha). In a nutshell, I enjoyed it and that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

