book reviews, middle grade

The Screaming Statue (The Curiosity House #2) by Lauren Oliver &H. C. Chester


Title: The Screaming Statue (The Curiosity House #2) by Lauren Oliver& H. C. Chester
Author: Lauren Oliver & H. C. Chester
Source: Bought
Edition: Paperback
Publication:Harper Collins Children’s book
Pages: 361 pages
Category: Middle Grade, Mystery, Fantasy, Adventure


In this second book in the exceptional Curiosity House series by bestselling author Lauren Oliver and shadowy recluse H. C. Chester, four extraordinary children must avenge their friend’s death, try to save their home, and unravel the secrets of their past . . . before their past unravels them.

Pippa, Sam, Thomas, and Max are happy to be out of harm’s way now that the notorious villain Nicholas Rattigan is halfway across the country in Chicago. But unfortunately their home, Dumfreys’s Dime Museum of Freaks, Oddities, and Wonders, is in danger of closing its doors forever.

But their troubles only get worse. The four friends are shocked when their beloved friend, famous sculptor Siegfried Eckleberger, is murdered. As they investigate, they find clues that his death may be tied to the murder of a rich and powerful New York heiress, as well as to their own pasts.

This is the second book in the series and so boasts many wondrous and mysterious things inside, such as:

· Howie, the “Human Owl,” whose head turns just about all the way around
· A mean but important house cat
· Some perfectly ghastly wax sculptures
· A very thin boy named Chubby
· An awful mechanical leg

It continues not to have:
· A cautionary tale about running with scissors
· A list of time-consuming chores
· Nutritious and decidedly not delicious vegetables
· A perfectly sweet bedtime story about a wayward bunny
· Two wet kisses on the cheek from your aunt Mildred


This is the second book for The Curiosity House series. New characters have been added and some old characters either got married or died in the first book. The museum is still up and running but turmoil and financial problems take a toll on all of the characters. Compared to the first book, this story had more drama. Some characters left the museum. The performed acts were sabotaged and the relationship between the four main characters were tested. For Rattigan, he was  still being pursued by the police but of course he is a jack of all trades, so expect something crazy and spooky from him. His character adds a lot of mystery and weirdeness to the whole series which interests me.

I gave the story a four hearts rating because this book still did not satisfy my curiosity.Now, I had more questions than the first book. It was still a fun read and I was not disappointed by how sneaky and clever Rattigan can be. Also, it seems that he would not be the only antagonist in the story. The Fearsome Firebird (The Curiosity House #3) is the next book and its scheduled to come out this April 2017. I am really excited to read this and I hope some of my questions would be answered already.


“You know how I feel about that word. Freak is just another word for marvellous. And Howie is quite a marvel. Show her, Howie.”
– The Screaming Statue (The Curiosity House #2) by Lauren Oliver & H. C. Chester

” All men are monsters. The only evil is in pretending otherwise.”
– The Screaming Statue (The Curiosity House #2) by Lauren Oliver & H. C. Chester

“A sculptor does more than sculpt the nose, the eyes, the ears, and cheekbones.” He placed a hand on his chest over his heart.”Vee must sculpt the soul!”
– The Screaming Statue (The Curiosity House #2) by Lauren Oliver & H. C. Chester



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s