movie review · others

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (movie review)

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them-featured-image

Movie info from rotten tomatoes.com:
Title: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Rating:PG-13 (for some fantasy action violence.)
Genre:Action & Adventure , Kids & Family , Science Fiction & Fantasy
Directed By: David Yates (II)
Written By: J.K. Rowling
In Theaters: Nov 18, 2016
Box Office: $74,403,387.00
Runtime: 132 minutes
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
SYNOPSIS from metacritic.com:

The year is 1926, and Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne) has just completed a global excursion to find and document an extraordinary array of magical creatures. Arriving in New York for a brief stopover, he might have come and gone without incident, were it not for a No-Maj (American for Muggle) named Jacob, a misplaced magical case, and the escape of some of Newt’s fantastic beasts, which could spell trouble for both the wizarding and No-Maj worlds.

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤❤

MY THOUGHTS:

I was very determined to watch this movie when I watched the full trailer in youtube. The trailer had me hooked. I made a mental note for myself that I should watch this as soon as possible once the movie is out.

The movie revolved around Newt Scamander and his suitcase full of magical creatures.I liked the idea of Eddie Redmayne as Newt Scamander. He was adorkable (adorable + dork) in the movie. The character of  Newt  is very attractive and endearing because he likes and cares for animals. I also liked Tina. She was very dedicated to her job but she also knows when to accept the real facts. Queenie and Jacob the No-Maj somehow made me smile. I especially liked them both since they gave the movie a subtle romantic flavour. As for the antagonist, I think there is more to him that what is shown in the movie. I somehow did not see the plot twist regarding the antagonist, but some would have known it at the middle of the movie.

Although, its a part of the Harry Potter universe I felt that Newt Scamander’s story had its own vibe. I loved the timeline which the story is set. The 1920s clothes and music were really different from our music now. There hairstyles were also short yet very feminine. They were very classy in that era and I’d gladly use a time turner to try experience that era.

The magical beasts were also very entertaining. They all stayed in Newt’s suitcase where different climates and environments are available for them to live in. They did play a major role in the movie. My favourite beast would be the one who is always in his pocket. This creature also picked locks. I definitely want one of Newt’s suitcases because instead of magical beast I would stash all my books there. I could bring my books anywhere since the suitcase is very handy too.

I gave the movie a four hearts rating because I believe that its a good start for the movie series. I heard that there are four movies (please correct me if I’m wrong) more regarding Newt’s story and I’m pretty excited how these other movies will address my current questions. As the movie progressed I had more questions than answers. Some of them being why does Newt have a picture of a Lestrange woman? who was she in his life? Why did he really go to America? Will he come back to America? Will Jacob and Queenie be an official couple? and lastly Is Tina just a friend for Newt?

All in all, I loved the quality of the effects of the movie, its characters, the actors and actresses who portrayed them and the plot itself has got my interests piqued. Everyone who loves Harry Potter should try this movie. It has magic, characters which are easy to love and magical beasts.

QUOTES FROM http://www.moviequotesandmore.com:

[hands Jacob a helmet]
Newt Scamander: Put this on.
Jacob Kowalski: But why would I have to wear something like this?
Newt Scamander: Because your skull is susceptible to breakage under immense force.


Percival Graves: No human can do what this thing is capable of.


Jacob Kowalski: There’s strange things going on all over the city. People behind this are not like you and me. There’s a hidden society, it goes back centuries.


[referring to Newt and Jacob]
Queenie Goldstein: Tin, you brought me home.
Porpentina Goldstein: This is Mr. Scamander, he’s lost something, I’m going to help him.
Queenie Goldstein: Fine.

Leave a Reply

