adult novels · book reviews

Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

42899Title: Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood #1)
Author: J.R. Ward
Source: Bought
Edition: Paperback
Publication: Signet
Pages: 393 pages
Category: Adult Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy

SYNOPSIS FROM GOODREADS:

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.

The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

LIKENESS SCALE:❤❤❤❤❤
MY THOUGHTS:

Finally, I was able to get a copy of the first book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series. I first bought the third book and really loved it.This made me look and buy the first book of the series. I believe it would also be best to start always at the beginning of a series to know whats eventually happening in the other books. Because I loved the third book I definitely have high expectations for the other books in the series.

Dark Lover as a first book did not disappoint. It is a good introduction book for the Black Dagger Brotherhood Universe. I liked how the love story of Beth and Wrath unfolded. Although, it seemed like instant love, it worked for me. I think its because despite it being instant love they both felt insecure and pain. Some of the questions I asked when I was reading book three (lover awakened) were answered when I read this book. Most of this questions circulated around Butch the cop.

I definitely love this book. I gave it a five hearts because I just love J.R. Ward’s writing style. She creates easy to love characters because they are funny, witty,sarcastic, dark and imperfect. Dark Lover is also an easy read book which I would love to read again.

QUOTES:

“Welcome to the wonderful world of jealousy, he thought. For the price of admission, you get a splitting headache, a nearly irresistable urge to commit murder, and an inferiority complex. Yippee.”
― J.R. Ward, Dark Lover

“Some bridges you crossed on your own, no matter who drove you to the edge”
― J.R. Ward, Dark Lover

“You have cable?” He nodded toward her TV.
She tossed him the clicker. “Sure do. And if I remember, there’s a Godzilla marathon on TBS tonight.”
“Sweet,” the vampire said, kicking his legs out. “I always root for the monster.”
She smiled at him. “Me, too.”
― J.R. Ward, Dark Lover

“And he was not lonely. Never had been. Vengeance was one hell of a roommate.”
― J.R. Ward, Dark Lover
Leave a Reply

