adult novels · book reviews

I’ve got your number by Sophie Kinsella

12033455Title: I’ve got your number
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Source: Bought-second hand
Edition: Paperback
Publication: Bantam Press
Pages: 387 pages
Category: Chick Lit, Romance, Comedy, Fiction

SYNOPSIS:

I’ve lost it. 😦 The only thing in the world I wasn’t supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It’s been in Magnus’s family for three generations. And now, the very same day his parents are coming, I’ve lost it. The very same day. Do not hyperventilate, Poppy. Stay positive!! 🙂

A couple of glasses of bubbly with the girls at a charity do and Poppy’s life has gone into meltdown. Not only has she lost her engagement ring, but in the panic that followed, she’s lost her phone too. As she paces shakily round the hotel foyer she spots an abandoned phone in a bin. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number with the hotel staff. It was meant to be!Except the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back, and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading all his messages and wading into his personal life. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, phone messages and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents, can things get any more tangled?

LIKENESS SCALE: MY THOUGHTS:

No words can express my love for this book. I never thought it would be a funny-fun-very-chick-lit read. From start to finish I was smiling which earned its five hearts rating. The story revolves around Poppy who lost her wedding ring and due to circumstances has found a cellphone which belongs to Sam Roxton. As the story progresses Poppy and Sam get to know each other because of the shared phone. I knew from the start that the author would bring Sam and Poppy together. Usually most of the chick lit novels which I read have a proper ending but this novel is different. All I can say is that it had very realistic ending. The whole concept of the book was definitely unique for me. This book has made Sophie Kinsella one of the authors which I turn to when I need to smile.

QUOTES:

“But sometimes you have to be brave. Sometimes you have to show people what’s important in life.”
― Sophie Kinsella, I’ve Got Your Number

“If it’s in the bin, it’s public property.”
― Sophie Kinsella, I’ve Got Your Number

“Lover? I don’t know. I don’t know if she loves me. I don’t know if I love her. All I can say is, she’s the one I think about. All the time. She’s the voice I want to hear. She’s the face I hope to see.”
― Sophie Kinsella, I’ve Got Your Number

Leave a Reply

